Jinjuseong Fortress, Korea

Jinjuseong Fortress, which is historically linked to the Japanese invasion in 1592, was originally named Geoyeolseong Fortress during the Three Kingdom Period, later renamed as Chokseokseong Fortress in the Goryeo Dynasty and finally settled as Jinjuseong Fortress in the Joseon Dynasty. The reinforced stonewall has a circumference of approximately 1,760m, 5m-8m in height and contains three wells and springs. According to Ha Ryun’s Seongmungi in Donggukyeojiseungnam Record, the castle had been frequently destroyed by the Japanese invasion and was later reinforced by Jinju’s minister, Kim Jung-gwang during the fifth year of Goryeo Woo King’s reign (1379). During this period, the circumference was 800 bo(pace), with Uijeongmun Gate to the east, Jijemun Gate to the north, and Yehwamun Gate to the south. Outside the castle, Cheongcheon River flows in the west and Namgang River in the south and a pond lies between the castle and the trench dug during the war times. As a fortress to safeguard from the Japanese attacks, it blocked the Japanese from advancing toward Honam during the 25th year of Joseon Seonjo King’s reign (1592). Within the temple lies Chokseoknu, Kim Shi-min Memorial, Uigisa Shrine, Seojangdae, Bukjangdae, Changyeolsa shrine, Jinju National Museum, Hoguksa Temple, and an outdoor stage.

 

Popular nearby, compatible sites for a private tour in Gyeongsangnamdo:

 

Address

626, Namgang-ro, Jinju-si, Gyeongsangnam-do
경상남도 진주시 남강로 626 (본성동)

 

Operating Hours 
09:00-18:00
* Free admission 18:00-22:00

 

Closed 
N/A (Open all year round)

 

Admission Fees 
Adults: 2,000 won / Group: 1,400 won
Youths: 1,000 won / Group: 600 won
Children: 600 won / Group: 400 won
* Group: 30 or more people